One Thought Leads to Another

Do you explore your thoughts to where they lead?

This is a fitting discussion today. You see, yesterday while having my morning coffee on the patio a thought popped into my head. This thought was actually the phrase “money is the root of all evil”. As I thought about it, the following questions entered my mind:

Is this truth? Is this a finite statement? Is this meant to be taken literally?

These questions led to deeper thought. Breaking it down, I thought about the word “root” and it’s meaning. To me, the “root” is the basis or origin of something. I do not see money as the root of the problem. Let me explain. It is not money that is evil. God is abundant thus through him you are abundant as he is one with you and you one with him. Now this abundance takes many forms including money.

I asked myself this question. “What do I consider to be the root of all evil?” My answer in infinite terms was “fear is the root of all evil”. Fear is a powerful tool that can be used (if we allow it) on ourselves and on others as a means of gaining, regaining or maintaining control.

Fear List

I did not write this blog yesterday for whatever reason and told myself that I would write it tomorrow. It is now tomorrow and here I sit writing like I told myself I would. However, I was unknowing to where my thoughts would take me this morning. I saw a post on facebook about “doing your research” and yes, it was a message for me. I am thankful for the Divine guidance that I am given each and every day.

I got online searching for information… a quest for knowledge.

I found, like many things throughout history and especially today, focus gets placed on one aspect in order to create a specific and desired response instead of telling the story in its entirety. I located the origin of the phrase I had pondered yesterday in the Book of I Timothy, Chapter 6 , Verse 10. I looked it up in the Bible on my desk.

The phrase “money is the root of all evil” is not the entire phrase and is plucked out of the center of what is written. Key words have been eliminated in the shortened version. The statement I found is this, “For the love of money is the root of all evil.” Let’s put it in context with the previous verse and the remainder of Verse 10 itself:

I Timothy 6: 9

“But they that will be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and hurtful lusts, which drowns men in destruction and perdition.”

I Timothy 6: 10

“For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.”

The omitted words to the phrase “for the love of ” directs you to the topic of greed.

This then brought the 7 Deadly Sins to mind that I had not thought about yesterday.

7 Deadly Sins

Although not listed,  I would like to include this one as a side note:

Jealousy

Explore your thoughts.
Begin, restart or continue your quest for knowledge!

You may be surprised what you learn.

This has reminded me of something that I wrote many years ago:

“Questions lead to answers. Answers lead to questions. It’s a cycle one never wants to break. Without it, change will not take place.”

So I ask you…

Do you explore your thoughts to where they lead you?
OR
Do you stop the continuation of your thoughts unknowing to where they may have led?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

